Fog Chaser
Volume II
Meditation 014 | Late Roses
20
0:00
-3:26

Meditation 014 | Late Roses

F Major | Vol. II, Issue 2
20

Thank you for being here for the 14th installment of this newsletter. Here in the Northwest, a few late-blooming roses linger as the summer, reluctantly, takes its leave.

🎵 This month’s piece is in F major.1 I’ve been playing around with this piano part for years, so, I’m really thrilled to finally get to share it with you here. You’ll also hear some field recordings I took in a windy lakeside meadow.

📷 I took this month’s photo on a walk earlier this week.2 Yes, I went portrait mode on some roses — why not?

I invite you to sit with this song, photo, and poem and make them a small part of your day, whether that’s your morning ritual, afternoon break, or your evening wind-down.

As always, if you feel like it, let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to hear from you. Thank you again for being here.

Leave a comment

Share Fog Chaser


A Poem

Fall Song

by Joy Harjo

It is a dark fall day.
The earth is slightly damp with rain.
I hear a jay.
The cry is blue.
I have found you in the story again.
Is there another word for ‘‘divine’’?
I need a song that will keep sky open in my mind.
If I think behind me, I might break.
If I think forward, I lose now.
Forever will be a day like this
Strung perfectly on the necklace of days.
Slightly overcast
Yellow leaves
Your jacket hanging in the hallway
Next to mine.


Currently

Listening to

  • I Follow Rivers by Marika Hackman3 (Listen)

    • Reminder: I’m putting all the songs shared in the newsletter into this Spotify playlist (which is basically just a list of my favorite songs)

Reading

  • Red Sorghum by Mo Yan (Powell’s)

    • So far: Intense and graphic, but beautiful.

Sharing

  • A new release! I’m excited to be teaming up again with label Sonder House to release another couple of tracks. The first comes out later this month, on 10/28.

Pre-Save 'Alpine'

  • A bonus piece of music! I had the opportunity to write a song to accompany the first chapter of Elle Griffin's wonderful new utopian novel, Oblivion, which she's serializing in her wonderful newsletter. I wrote a very synth-centric / ethereal track. Check it out / give it a listen here:

The Novelleist
Oblivion, Chapter 1
Welcome to Oblivion—a utopian novel I’m publishing via Substack. You can start at the beginning or you can start right here. Each chapter was designed to stand on its own and take less than three minutes to read. Quick recap: Elysia washed up on a tropical island with no recollection of her past and a painting held beneath her arm. Now, a young girl leads her up a mountain, where she hopes to learn more about where she is…
Read more
  • Oh, and some of you have sent me some actual mail! What an unexpected but delightful surprise. Keep it coming! Address in the footer below.

1

Late Roses in F major / Recorded in Logic Pro / Written and produced by Fog Chaser

2

Late Roses / iPhone

3

This is a cover of a song originally written and recorded by Lykke Li, which is also great.

20 Comments
Fog Chaser
Volume II
MEDITATIONS / Volume II of the original music shared in the Fog Chaser newsletter (September 2022 - September 2023)
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
FogChaser