Fog Chaser
Volume III
Helvellyn
66
0:00
-2:32

Helvellyn

Exploration 003 | Lake District, England | Vol. III, Issue 3
66

I climbed the dark brow of the mighty Helvellyn, 
Lakes and mountains beneath me gleamed misty and wide

Sir Walter Scott

Well, we were all sick in my house the last ten days or so. And we were also snowed in. 2024 coming out swinging. Regardless, I’m grateful that I’ve had a warm place to recover, and I appreciate you being here to listen, as always.

Whenever I’m under the weather one of the things I long for most is going for a long walk. So, this month I thought we could explore a bit of England’s Lake District, one of the most beautiful places I’ve had the good fortune to wander. (We last visited the Lake District in Vol. II’s Gathering Light, which, coincidentally, comes out this Friday on the UK-based label Bigo & Twigetti.)

🎵 This month’s piece is in C Dorian.1

I was reading a book recently where the author wrote very disparagingly of the Dorian mode, arguing that it’s too sad to ever sound good. I couldn’t disagree more. To me, this month’s piece feels like movement, like change, like a cloud breaking over a valley.2 What do you hear?

📷 This month’s photos were taken in the Lake District National Park in England.3

When you climb to the top of any one of the Lake District’s many hills, the views are breathtaking. It’s easy to see why Wordsworth considered it “the loveliest spot that man hath found.”

I invite you to sit with this month’s song, photos, and poem and make them a small part of your day, whether that’s your morning ritual, afternoon break, or your evening wind-down.

As always, if you feel like it, let me know what you think in the comments. I’d love to hear from you.

Thank you again for being here.

Leave a comment

Listen to more Fog Chaser


The World Is Too Much With Us

by William Wordsworth4

The world is too much with us; late and soon,
Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers;—
Little we see in Nature that is ours;
We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!
This Sea that bares her bosom to the moon;
The winds that will be howling at all hours,
And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers;
For this, for everything, we are out of tune;
It moves us not. Great God! I’d rather be
A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;
So might I, standing on this pleasant lea,
Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;
Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea;
Or hear old Triton blow his wreathèd horn.


Listening to

Reading

Sharing

1

Helvellyn in C Dorian, for twelve instruments / Written, performed, and produced by Fog Chaser

2

Theory notes: Modes are just types of musical scales that have a set of characteristic melodic and harmonic behaviors. C Dorian is the second mode of the Bb major scale. It contains exactly the same notes (including an E-flat and B-flat), but starts on C, which becomes the new tonal center. As a minor-sounding mode, the scale feels most related to the C minor scales, differing by just a single note (the B-flat).

3

Shots from the Lake District, UK, mostly around Thrilmere and St. John’s in the Vale, near Keswick.

4

Sticking with the very British theme of this post. (Had to go with Wordsworth for a Lake District post).

5

…continuing this love letter to the UK.

6

The Fog Chaser Bookshop is hosted on Bookshop.org, where 10% of all sales are distributed to independent bookstores. As an affiliate, I will earn a commission if you click through and make a purchase.

7

🇬🇧

66 Comments
Fog Chaser
Volume III
EXPLORATIONS /
Volume III of the original music shared in the Fog Chaser newsletter (November 2023 - October 2024)
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
FogChaser
Recent Episodes